沙特卡亚石化公司

石油和天然气 / 石油和天然气生产

作为SABIC集团的一员,沙特卡亚石化公司已经建成了世界上最大的石化工厂之一:Kelvion PHE公司已经提供了110台强大的凯络文NT系列热交换器,创下了该公司单笔最大订单的记录,即使在沙特沙漠的高温下也能保持冷却。该项目在六年前启动,现在即将投入生产。位于沙特阿拉伯王国东部省Al-Jubail的沙特卡亚石化公司将在今年晚些时候达到其全部产能,届时将有几台设备投产,其中包括每年能够蒸馏200万吨的乙烷/丁烷裂解装置,一个年产量约70万吨的聚乙烯设备;一个年产35万吨的聚丙烯装置,以及一台53万吨乙二醇装置。该工厂还将包括一台生产特种胺衍生物的设备。除了扩大在沙特阿拉伯生产的产品范围,沙特卡亚还计划建立一个专注于工业产品和应用开发的应用中心。

Kelvion沙特卡亚石化公司

Kelvion PHE是该工厂板式热交换器的主要供应商。需要使用热交换器来提供过程冷却水,以保持化工厂的所有设备高效运行。这在任何环境下都是一个难题,而在沙特阿拉伯,夏季环境空气温度接近50°C,没有淡水冷却,这个任务就难上加难。Erik Petersen是Kelvion PHE驻沙特卡亚工厂的代表,也是公司在迪拜的服务经理。他说:“夏季温度对系统的效率有很大的影响。”夏季,波斯湾的水温可高达36°C。来自工厂的回水约为50℃。

该工厂位于波斯湾的岸边,利用波斯湾的海水提供冷却用水。海水使用专门定制的开放式通道,流经整个Al-Jubail工业园区,专门为水塔供水。当局禁止任何水处理,使用后直接排入海中。然而,海水的使用要求Kelvion PHE提供钛制板式热交换器,以抵抗海水冷却介质的腐蚀性。凯络文赢得了这份合同,因为NT 350L板式热交换器所具备的卓越技术以及具备能够为建造所需提供520吨钛材的能力。Kelvion Holding GmbH前首席销售官Klaus-Peter Glöckner说:“我们需要保证,在整个长期的生产过程中,我们可以获得定期和充足的钛供应。”   

Kelvion沙特卡亚石化公司
Kelvion沙特卡亚石化公司
Kelvion沙特卡亚石化公司
Kelvion沙特卡亚石化公司
Kelvion沙特卡亚石化公司
Kelvion沙特卡亚石化公司

NT系列是为多种应用而设计的垫片板式热交换器。Al-Jubail所使用的110台装置是NT 350L,连接线长达350毫米,吞吐量为1,900 m³/h。它们是Kelvion PHE的新一代板式热交换器,投资成本低,运行稳定,维护量少,吞吐量高。它们是规划Al-Jubail工厂时用量最大的产品系列。对于实现相同的产能而言,优化的板式设计所需的传热面积较少,并且可以持续降低投资成本。新的安装技术和无胶EcoLoc垫圈技术使维护更容易,并确保垫片和板组合的完美贴合,从而避免损坏,延长设备的使用寿命。优化的波形配置称为OptiWave,可在整个板的宽度范围内实现理想的流量,从而保证最大的传热速率。当用于被贝壳、甲壳类、软体动物和其他海洋生物污染的海水时,结垢也是一个潜在的问题。如果不加以控制,这种结垢会干扰热交换器的运行,并且在极端的情况下会导致设备过热。

Erik Petersen解释说,整个工厂太大,以至于现有安装的仪器难以监测各个热交换器的运行情况。“沙特卡亚公司只需要了解整个系统的概况。监测每台热交换器的性能,并发现任何可能干扰其有效运行的结垢迹象,这是我们的职责。”他解释说。“我们专注于预防问题的发生。”工厂的冷却依靠两个回路。目前,第一回路接近满负荷运行;第二回路接近额定产能的40%,因为并非工厂内的所有设备都在运行。“目前我们正在对所有热交换器进行全面检查,以了解它们应对结垢情况的模式。未来有可能将这些检查的频率减少到每9或12个月。”

Kelvion PHE与沙特卡亚直接签订了合约。Erik Petersen表示,该项目的成功主要归功于公司和客户自六年前签订订购协议以来的有效沟通。他说:“我们建立了真正的伙伴关系,始终作为一个团队来解决问题。这里有一种真正的合作精神。”

与我们联系

Kelvion Holding GmbHPlease feel free to send us your questions!
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By visiting www.kelvion.com you agree to the use of cookies.

Oil&Gas / Oil&Gas Production

Saudi Kayan Petrochemical Company

The Saudi Kayan Petrochemical Company, part of the SABIC group, has constructed what is one of the largest petrochemical plants in the world: Kelvion PHE has provided 110 of its powerful Kelvion NT Series heat exchangers in what was the company’s largest single order, to keep the plant cool, even in the heat of the Saudi desert. The project started over six years ago and is now close to going into full production. When it’s up to its full operating capacity later this year the Saudi Kayan petrochemical complex in Al-Jubail in the Eastern Province of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia will have several plants operating including an ethane/butane cracker capable of distilling two million tonnes per year; a polyethylene plant producing around 700,000 tonnes a year; a polypropylene plant designed for 350,000 tonnes a year; and a 530,000-tonnes ethylene glycol unit. The factory will also include a plant for the production of speciality amine derivatives. As well expanding the range of products produced in Saudi Arabia, Saudi Kayan intends to establish an application centre which will focus on the development of industrial products and applications.

Kelvion References Saudi Kayan Petrochemical Company

Kelvion PHE is the main supplier of plate heat exchangers for the plant. The heat exchangers are required to provide process cooling water to keep all the plants within the complex operating efficiently.  This would be a difficult problem in any environment, but in Saudi Arabia, with summer ambient air temperatures touching 50°C, and no fresh cooling water available, the task takes on another dimension.  Erik Petersen is the representative for Kelvion PHE in the Saudi Kayan plant and is the company’s service manager based in Dubai. “The summer time temperature makes a lot of difference to the efficiency of the system,” he said. Water temperatures in the Persian Gulf in summer can reach as high as 36°C.  The return water from the plant is to about 50°C.

The plant lies on the banks of the Persian Gulf which provides a ready supply of sea water for cooling.  The water travels through the whole of the Al-Jubail industrial complex in purpose-built open channels that feed water towers. The authorities forbid any water treatment as, after use, it is discharged directly into the sea. The use of sea water, however, has required Kelvion PHE to supply heat exchangers with titanium plates to resist the corrosiveness of the sea water cooling medium. Kelvion won the contract both because of the excellent technology built into the NT 350L plate heat exchangers and because of its ability to guarantee a reliable source for the 520 tonnes of titanium required for their construction.  “We were required to give our assurances that we could obtain a regular and sufficient supply of titanium throughout the long production process,” said Klaus-Peter Glöckner, CSO of Kelvion Holding GmbH.   

Kelvion References Saudi Kayan Petrochemical Company
Kelvion References Saudi Kayan Petrochemical Company
Kelvion References Saudi Kayan Petrochemical Company
Kelvion References Saudi Kayan Petrochemical Company
Kelvion References Saudi Kayan Petrochemical Company
Kelvion References Saudi Kayan Petrochemical Company

NT Series is a gasketed plate heat exchanger designed for multiple applications. The 110 units supplied to Al-Jubail are NT 350L units with 350 mm connections and a throughput of 1,900m3/hour.   They are part of a new generation of plate heat exchangers from Kelvion PHE that provide high throughout with low cost investment, operation and maintenance. They were the largest in the range at the time the Al-Jubail plant was planned. The optimized plate design requires less heat transfer surface area for the same capacity and brings about a lasting reduction of investment costs. New installation and glueless EcoLoc gasket technologies make maintenance easier and ensure a perfect fit of the gasket and plate pack thereby avoiding damage and extending the service life of the equipment. The optimized wave configuration – called OptiWave - results in ideal flow across the entire plate width, guaranteeing maximum heat transfer rates. Fouling is also a potential problem when using sea water contaminated with shells, crustaceans, molluscs, and other sea creatures.  Left unchecked this fouling will interfere with the operation of the heat exchangers and could, under extreme circumstances, cause the plant to overheat.

Erik Petersen explained that the whole plant is so large that it’s difficult to monitor the operation of the individual heat exchangers, with existing installed instruments. “Saudi Kayan just has an overview of the entire system.  It’s our job to monitor the performance of each heat exchanger and to spot any signs of fouling that could interfere with their efficient operation,” he explained.  “We concentrate on preventing problems before they happen.” The cooling for the plant runs on two loops.  Currently loop one is running close to full capacity; loop two is at around 40% capacity as not all the plants within the complex are operating. “For the time being we are doing full checks on all the heat exchangers to build up a pattern of how they are coping with the fouling.  In time it might be possible to drop these checks back to every 9 or 12 months.

Kelvion PHE is contracted directly to Saudi Kayan.  Erik Petersen said that the success of the project has largely been due to the effective communication between his company and his customer ever since the order was placed over six years ago.  “It’s a real partnership,” he said, “We work as a team to solve problems as they come up. There is a genuine spirit of co-operation here.”

Get in touch with us

Kelvion Holding GmbH
Kelvion Holding GmbHPlease feel free to send us your questions!
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By visiting www.kelvion.com you agree to the use of cookies.