公司历史

从GEA到凯络文

从1920年的GEA,到2015年的凯络文,公司历经了一段漫长的旅程。

我们热交换器业务的起源可以追溯到1920年, Otto Happel成立了“Entsessungsungs-Anlagen GesellschaftfürEntstaubungs-Anlagen”公司,即GEA。在成立的前几十年中,公司大力扩展了热交换器业务,成为热工领域的早期创新者和技术标准的制定者。1999年,GEA被mg technologies AG(前身为Metallgesellschaft)收购,2005年更名为GEA Group AG。2010年,GEA将其所有热交换器业务整合在一个部门中(“HX”)。2014年,GEA热交换器事业部被Triton基金收购。

前GEA热交换器部门的核心业务正式从GEA Group AG中分离出来,并以新的名称 - 凯络文继续谱写自己的历史华章。热交换器分部的其他部门目前以另外两个新的品牌名称经营:DencoHappel(前空气处理业务)和Enexio(前电力冷却解决方案业务)。

“凯络文”品牌是以向开尔文勋爵(1824 - 1907)致敬而得名。开尔文勋爵制定了热力学的定律,温度的绝对单位是用开尔文来表示的。

里程碑

1920年:Otto Happel Sr.(生于1882年)于波鸿创立了GEA

GEA公司成立于1920年2月2日,全称为“Gesellschaft für Entstaubungs-Anlagen mbH”。创始人是一位具有卓越的技术洞察力,渴望成就开拓性技术创新的全情投入的企业家。

1922年:Happel的椭圆形翅片管闭路冷却系统

Otto Happel的第一个目标非常明确:在德国引入“闭路冷却”,并尽快将其开发用于大型设备。在创立小企业的短短两年时间后,他便实现了这一目标。Happel的闭路冷却系统与欧洲和海外的竞争对手的区别在于非常重要的一个方面:Happel并没有使用传统的热交换器(带卷绕翅片或压扁式长方形翅片的圆管热交换器),而是安装了“椭圆形翅片管”,这是他第一个独立的技术开发成果,也是直到今天GEA热交换器系列的一个关键产品。

1925年:重新更名为GEA Luftkühlergesellschaft mbH

1925年2月15日,Happel将公司重新更名为波鸿“GEA Luftkühlergesellschaft mbH”。凭借其完善的工程产品,快速赢得了良好的声誉。仅仅两年后,在椭圆形翅片管的基础上,GEA公司开发了变压器用空气冷却器、整流器用空气-水冷却器、压缩机用强制空气冷却器、内燃机车和蒸汽动力轨道车用冷却器。

1935年:风冷式冷凝器 – 技术里程碑

1935年,Otto Happel与工程师Kurt Lang博士合作,开始研发用于固定式蒸汽轮机的风冷式冷凝器。

1948年:Otto Happel Sr.逝世

1948年12月26日,正当所有的工作如火如荼地开展之时,正当所有人满怀憧憬期待新的征程之时,Otto Happel Sr.溘然去世。他的逝世是一项巨大的损失,因为他不仅是具有开拓思路的高瞻远瞩的工程师,创造了公司,更是明智的商人和充满活力的组织者,引导公司度过美好时光和艰难时刻。他的遗孀,Elisabeth Happel,为了1948年2月刚刚出生的儿子Otto,不顾朋友和亲密伙伴的反对,毅然决定继续从事亡夫未竟的事业。

1953年:创建新部门

早期,GEA工程师曾尝试将椭圆形翅片管引入加热系统。尽管这些努力起初并没有取得成功,但在战后,它们成为实现多样化的第二个重要步骤,同时也为公司的盈利部门 - 对流式和空气加热器部门的成立奠定了基础。为了更好地将这些新产品推向市场,第一家独立子公司“GEA Konvektorenbau Happel KG”于1953年1月1日成立。

二十世纪六十年代:在国外建立众多公司

随着对GEA工厂和设备需求的增加以及对当地生产需求的不断增加,上世纪六十年代,GEA在国外建立了许多公司。1961年,合资公司“James Howden - GEA Ltd.”在格拉斯哥成立,后改名为“GEA Airexchangers Ltd. London”,生产基地位于北爱尔兰。随后于1963年在意大利成立了“GEA Scambiatori di Calore R.r.l”,在荷兰成立了“GEA Warmtransport B.V.”。同年在纽约创办了“GEA Airexchangers, Inc.”。1964年,西班牙子公司“Compania GEA Iberica S.A.”在布尔戈斯成立,后来为克服关税壁垒,生产基地迁移到毕尔巴鄂附近的Yurre。1969年,GEA Luftkühler GmbH & Co.购买了位于纳河河畔Monzigen的“Renzmann&Grünewald KG”85%的股份,后来成为水冷式变压器冷却器的专业生产商。

二十世纪七十年代:进一步扩展国际业务

工程公司“GEA Power Cooling Systems, Inc.”在美国加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥市(1977年)成立,制造公司“GEA Rainey Corp.”在美国俄克拉何马州塔尔萨市(1978年)成立,这标志着GEA在美国扩展的第一阶段暂告一段落。二十世纪七十年代后期,公司建立及接管了“GEA Aircooled Systems Ltd.”(1975年,南非)、“GEA do Brasil Intercambiadores Ltda.”(1976年)、“GEA Power Cooling Systems, Inc.”(1977年,美国加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥市)、“GEA Rainey Corp.”(1978年,美国俄克拉何马州塔尔萨市),以及“GEA Ergé-Spirale S.A.”(1978年,法国)等公司。

1975年:Otto Happel Jr.博士掌管公司

在领导公司超过25年之后,Elisabeth Happel因为健康原因把公司的管理权交给了她的儿子, 刚刚在亚琛工业大学完成工程专业的学习并获得博士学位的Otto Happel博士,。

1979年:GEA集团推出新战略

接管德国希尔德斯海姆“Eduard Ahlborn GmbH”的举措标志着公司启动了一项新的多元化战略。食品加工设备制造商Ahlborn是板式热交换器的专家,GEA借助其热力学设计,改进自身的产品。

二十世纪八十年代:重组和进一步收购

GEA集团的健康发展促使公司在1980/81年对各部门、各个分部和地区进行必要的基本重组,以中央管理公司“GEA GmbH”为最高管理机构。收购和成立的其他公司,包括法国“Batignolles Technologies Thermiques SA”公司和德国“GEA Canzler GmbH & Co.”公司(均于1985年)、德国“KÜBA Kältetechnik GmbH公司”(1987年)、“Happel Belgium N.V.”(1988年)– 让GEA集团在其现有领域的销售额和人员显著增加,并在食品和工艺工程领域积累了更多的专业知识。1988年,GEA GmbH旗下约有30家公司。那一年,公司结构再次发生了变化,创立了“GEA AG & Co.”担任集团管理职责,成为新的控股公司。

1989年:上市

GEA公司于1989年12月上市,定位是“能源、环境和工艺工程领域的机器、系统和组件的全球性、广泛多元化的供应商”。至此,GEA集团从一家拥有69年历史的家族企业,成为拥有广泛所有权的公司。

二十世纪九十年代:在欧洲的进一步采购

东欧的政治动荡使得这一地区对德国西部的工业特别有吸引力。GEA于1992年把握机会购买匈牙利布达佩斯“EGI Contracting / Engineering Rt.”(电站干式冷却器)和捷克共和国利贝雷茨的“LVZ a.s.”(采暖、通风、空调和空气过滤器)。这些收购涉及热能和能源以及空气处理和制冷工程领域的公司,均为传统的GEA领域

1997年:集团重组

在经历了二十世纪九十年代初的强劲增长和全球经济衰退之后,1995年之后,集团步入了整合和合并的阶段,以“消化”新的活动。1997年,GEA集团改造为9个分部。

1999年:MG / GEA - 接管

1999年4月,GEA被mg technologies AG(Metallgesellschaft的继任者)收购。

2004年:进一步收购

2004年,集团收购了专门从事制冷技术的Goedhart,以及积极从事板式热交换器业务的WTT。

2005年:更名和收购FlatPlate和2H Kunststoff

集团于2005年更名为GEA Group AG。同年,GEA收购了美国板式热交换器公司FlatPlate和冷却塔填料专家以及水和废水处理专家2H Kunststoff。

2006-2008年:进一步收购

2006年,GEA集团收购了土耳其的ISISAN、Denco以及英国的2H Aqua。GEA的收购版图还在扩大,包括Aero Heat Exchangers(2007年)、Bloksma(2008年)、ViEx(2008年)、Caldemon Iberica(2008年)和NEMA Air Fin(2008年)。

2010年:集团重组

GEA的9个分部重组为技术特点鲜明的部门。最大的部门是热交换器部门(HX)。

2011年:收购Mashimpeks

在收购Mashimpeks这宗大型交易之后,GEA将板式热交换器业务扩大到俄罗斯。

2013年:GEA宣布出售HX部门

2014年6月,GEA集团董事会宣布决定出售热交换器部门(HX)。10月份,GEA集团就将热交换器部门销售给Triton事宜达成了协议。

2015年:凯络文 - 热交换器的品牌变更

2015年8月,前GEA热交换器部门开始推出新品牌,经历了演变过渡阶段。在这一阶段,该部门最初专注于两个方面:一是核心业务,该部门的核心业务为客户提供了数十年的指导和信心;二是员工,正是这些员工实现了公司产品的开发、精确制造和全球分销。目标:让二者处于中立范畴,凸显独立于品牌名称和标志之外的新的公司性格。这两个方面都能够直观地揭示新公司性格的创造性外观。

2015年,前GEA热交换器部门正式从GEA集团中分离出来,并以新的名称 - 凯络文继续谱写自己的历史华章。

本网站使用信息记录程序确保您的最佳浏览体验。访问 www.kelvion.com, 表示您同意 信息记录程序(cookies)的使用

History

From GEA to Kelvion

It has been a long journey from starting as GEA back in 1920 to becoming Kelvion in 2015.

The origin of our heat exchangers business goes back to 1920, when GEA was founded as Gesellschaft für Entstaubungs-Anlagen‘ by Otto Happel. Over the first decades the company strongly expanded its heat exchanger activities, becoming an early innovator in thermal engineering and setter of technological standards. In 1999, GEA was acquired by mg technologies AG (the successor of Metallgesellschaft), which was renamed to GEA Group AG in 2005. In 2010, GEA bundled all of its heat exchanger activities in one segment (“HX”). In 2014, GEA Heat Exchangers was acquired by Triton fund.

With a new name, the core business of the former GEA Heat Exchangers Segment has been formally split from the GEA Group AG and is writing its own history as Kelvion. The other segments of the Heat Exchanger Division are now operating under its own names: DencoHappel (former Air Treatment Business) and Enexio (former Power Cooling Solutions Business).

The name Kelvion pays homage to Lord Kelvin (1824 - 1907). Lord Kelvin formulated the laws of thermodynamics and absolute units of temperature are stated in kelvin, in his honor.

Milestones

1920: Foundation of GEA in Bochum by Otto Happel Sr. (Born 1882)

Founded on 2 February 1920, GEA, abbreviated from the original German name of the company “Gesellschaft für Entstaubungs-Anlagen mbH”, was the work of a man who was an entrepreneur with heart and soul, a man gifted with an exceptional technical insight and filled with the desire for pioneering technical innovations.

1922: Happel’s closed-circuit cooling system with elliptical finned tubes

For Otto Happel, his first objective was clear: to introduce “closed-circuit cooling” in Germany and to develop it as quickly as possible for use in large installations. Just two years after setting up his small business he had achieved that objective, and Happel’s closed-circuit cooling system differed from those of his European and overseas competitors in only one – but one very important – aspect. Instead of the conventional heat exchanger (round tube exchangers with wrapped finning or pressed-on rectangular fins) Happel installed the “elliptical finned tube”, his first independent technical development which to this day is a key product in the GEA heat exchanger range.

1925: Renaming to GEA Luftkühlergesellschaft mbH

On 15 February 1925, Happel renamed his company “GEA Luftkühlergesellschaft mbH”, Bochum. With its soundly engineered products, it quickly developed a good reputation. Just two years later, on the basis of the elliptical finned tubes GEA developed air coolers for transformers, air-to-water coolers for rectifiers, forced air coolers for compressors, coolers for diesel locomotives and steam-powered rail cars.

1935: The Air Cooled Condenser – a Technical Milestone

In 1935, Otto Happel, in co-operation with the engineer Dr. Kurt Lang, began developing air-cooled condensers for stationary steam turbines.

1948: Otto Happel Sr. passed away

In the midst of all the work and the hopes for a new start, Otto Happel Sr. passed away on 26 December 1948. His death left a great gap, for he had not only shaped his company as a far-sighted engineer with pioneering ideas but also guided it through good times and bad as a wise businessman and dynamic organiser. Against the advice of friends and close associates, his widow, Elisabeth Happel, resolved to continue her husband’s life’s work for her son Otto who had been born in February 1948.

1953: Beginning of a New Division

Early on, GEA engineers had attempted to introduce elliptical finned tubes into heating. Although these efforts initially were not crowned with success, after the war they became the second important step towards diversification and also the starting point for a profitable new division, convectors and air heaters. To better introduce these new products on the market the first independent subsidiary, “GEA Konvektorenbau Happel KG”, was founded on 1 January 1953.

1960s: Establishment of numerous companies abroad

The increased demand for GEA plant and equipment plus the growing demand for local production led to the establishment in the 1960s of numerous companies abroad. “James Howden – GEA Ltd.”, a joint venture company later renamed “GEA Airexchangers Ltd. London”, with a production facility in Northern Ireland, was founded in Glasgow in 1961. This was followed in 1963 by the establishment of “GEA Scambiatori di Calore R.r.l.” in Italy and of “GEA Warmtetransport B.V.” in the Netherlands. In the same year, “GEA Airexchangers, Inc.” was set up in New York. In 1964, the Spanish subsidiary “Compania GEA Iberica S.A.” was established in Burgos with production later in Yurre near Bilbao to overcome tariff barriers. In 1969, GEA Luftkühler GmbH & Co. purchased 85% of the shares in “Renzmann & Grünewald KG” in Monzigen an der Nahe, later to become a specialist producer of water-cooled transformer coolers.

1970s Further expansion of international business.

The engineering company “GEA Power Cooling Systems, Inc.” In San Diego, California, USA (1977) and the manufacturing company “GEA Rainey Corp.” In Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA (1978) were the conclusion of the first phase of expansion in the USA. The latter half of 1970 saw the establishment or take-over of such companies as “GEA Aircooled Systems Ltd.”, South Africa (1975), “GEA do Brasil Intercambiadores Ltda.” (1976), “GEA Power Cooling Systems, Inc.”, San Diego, California, USA (1977), “GEA Rainey Corp.”, Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA (1978) and “GEA Ergé-Spirale S.A.”, France (1978).

1975: Dr. Otto Happel Jr. takes over the management

After more than 25 years at the helm, Elisabeth Happel handed over the management of the company for health reasons to her son, Dr. Otto Happel, who had just completed his engineering studies at the Technical University in Aachen and received his doctorate.

1979: The GEA Group launches a new strategy

The take-over of “Eduard Ahlborn GmbH” in Hildesheim, Germany, launched a new strategy of diversification. Ahlborn, a manufacturer of food processing equipment, was specialised in plate heat exchangers whose thermodynamic design was already carried out by GEA to improve its own products.

1980s: Reorganisation and further acquisitions

The healthy progress made by the entire GEA Group made it necessary in 1980/81 to undertake a basic reorganisation by departments, divisions and regions with a central management company, “GEA GmbH”, at the top. The purchase and/ or establishment of additional companies – “Batignolles Technologies Thermiques S.A.” in France, and “GEA Canzler GmbH & Co.” in Germany (both 1985), “KÜBA Kältetechnik GmbH”, Germany (1987), “Happel Belgium N.V.” (1988) – resulted in notable increases in sales and personnel for the GEA Group in their established fields and additional know-how in the area of food and process engineering. In the year 1988, some 30 companies belonged to GEA GmbH. In that year, the corporate structure was again changed and “GEA AG & Co.”, which assumed the management of the Group, was created as the new holding company.

1989: Going public

GEA presented itself to the public as a “global and broadly diversified supplier of machines, systems and components in the field of energy, environmental and process engineering” when the company went public in December 1989. Thus, after 69 years as a family-owned business the GEA Group was to become a company with widespread ownership.

1990s: Further acquisitions in Europe

The political upheaval in eastern Europe had made that area particularly interesting for western German industry. GEA took the opportunity in 1992 to purchase “EGI Contracting/Engineering Rt.” In Budapest, Hungary (dry cooling at power stations), and “LVZ a.s.” in Liberec, Czech Republic (heating, ventilation and air conditioning and air filters). These acquisitions involved companies in the fields of thermal and energy and air treatment and refrigeration engineering, i.e. traditional GEA fields.

1997: Reorganisation of the group

After the dynamic growth in the early 1990 years and because of the world wide recession,  the years after 1995 showed a phase of integration and consolidation in order to “digest “ the new activities. In 1997 GEA Group is structured in 9 Divisions.

1999: MG / GEA - the takeover

In April 1999, GEA was acquired by mg technologies AG (the successor of Metallgesellschaft).

2004: Further acquisitions

In 2004, the group acquired Goedhart, specialized in refrigeration technologies, and WTT, active in the plate heat exchanger business.

2005: Renaming and acquisition of FlatPlate and 2H Kunststoff

The group was renamed to GEA Group AG in 2005. In the same year, GEA acquired the plate heat exchanger company FlatPlate in the US, and 2H Kunststoff, a specialist for cooling tower fills as well as for water and waste-water treatment.

2006-2008: Further acquisitions

In 2006, GEA Group acquired ISISAN in Turkey, Denco as well as 2H Aqua in the UK. The lists acquisitions of GEA continued with Aero Heat Exchangers (2007), Bloksma (2008), ViEx (2008), Caldemon Iberica (2008), NEMA Air Fin (2008).

2010: Reorganization of the group

Reorganization of GEA's 9 Divisions into technologically distinct Segments. The largest segment is the Heat Exchangers Segment (HX).

2011: Acquistion of Mashimpeks

With the large acquisition of Mashimpeks, GEA expands its plate heat exchnager business to Russia. 

2013: GEA announced to sell the HX Segment

In June 2014, the board of GEA Group announced their decision to sell the Heat Exchangers Segment (HX). In October, GEA Group concludes the agreement on the sale of the Heat Exchangers Segment to Triton.

2015: Kelvion - a brand change in heat exchange

In August 2015, the former GEA Heat Exchangers Segment started to launch their new brand with a transitional phase. In this phase, the segment initially focused on its core business, which has given the customers guidance and confidence over the decades – and on its employees, who develop the products, manufacture them with precision and distribute them globally. The target: Give them both neutral scope, to allow an impression of the new corporate personality to arise, independent of brand name and logo. Both groups were able to visually discover the creative appearance of the new personality.

In November 2015, with a new name, the former GEA Heat Exchangers Segment has been formally split from GEA Group and is writing its own history as Kelvion.

{f:translate (key=LLL:fileadmin/Kelvion/Project/Resources/Private/Language/locallang.xlf:layout.ajax_loader)}
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By visiting www.kelvion.com you agree to the use of cookies.